Saturday Music: Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)

I guess it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.  Black Friday has come and gone.  Bama has won the SEC title game.  The tree is up and the light fairy has sprayed lights all over the trees out front.  So, I guess it’s time to put on the Michael Buble Christmas album.

In terms of secular Christmas music, Buble’s “Christmas” is about the best there is.  Like a lot of his music, he takes what others have done and does it differently — and a lot of the time does it better than the original.  That’s the case with this album.  He covers a batch of the classics and tosses in a couple of original songs.

My favorite song on the album comes down to two of them.  If I hear his version of Mariah Carey’s  All I Want for Christmas first, I usually think that’s my favorite until I hear the song above, Christmas (Baby Please Come Home).

Shoot, since we’re only a couple of weeks away from Christmas, how about a bonus track today?  Here’s my almost favorite, All I Want for Christmas:


“Saturday Music” is a weekly blog series about the music of our lives.  Click here to read all of the posts in this series.

Leave a Reply

