Saturday Music: Stay With Me

I first heard this song when one of the kids played it.  Sam Smith is very talented and has a very distinctive voice and it’s easy for this song to catch your attention.

But after a while, I started listening to the lyrics.  What I then heard is one of the most disturbing songs of our age.  What I heard is the anthem for our sin sickened and depraved culture.  Take a look at the two main verses of the song:

Guess it’s true, I’m not good at a one-night stand
But I still need love ’cause I’m just a man
These nights never seem to go to plan
I don’t want you to leave, will you hold my hand?

Why am I so emotional?
No it’s not a good look, gain some self control
And deep down I know this never works
But you can lay with me so it doesn’t hurt

The chorus, which is repeated four times, goes like this:

Oh, won’t you stay with me?
‘Cause you’re all I need
This ain’t love it’s clear to see
But darling, stay with me

Doesn’t this break your heart?  This is the cry of our youth who have been sold the lie of sex whenever, however and with whomever.  The lie tells our youth do what makes you happy, but the truth says that sort of life most of the time ends in a bad place.

 

 


“Saturday Music” is a weekly blog series about the music of our lives.  Click here to read all of the posts in this series.

Leave a Reply

