Saturday Music: The Hard Way

This one is a good one.

Sweet Wife and I listened to a lot of Mary Chapin Carpenter back when we were just starting out.  It was good stuff and I think we knew that then, but I’m convinced we really had no idea about what we were hearing.  We heard the lyrics, but we really didn’t hear them.

Now, 20-plus years later, the lyrics mean a whole lot more.  And given the point of view of Carpenter in a lot of her songs, I probably need to listen to them a whole lot more now than Sweet Wife does.  I’m pretty sure I would learn something about my wife by listening to those songs.  Take these lyrics, for example:

Show a little inspiration, show a little spark
Show that things that drew me to you an’ stole my heart
And tell me somethin’ I don’t know instead of everything I do
And look at me as if I mean somethin’ to you

Ouch.

There are two other stanzas of the song to point out as well.  Here’s one:

Show a little passion, baby, show a little style
And show the knack for knowing when and the gift for knowing how
And have a little trust in us when fear obscures the path
You know we got this far, darling, not by luck, but by never turnin’ back

And here is the other:

So show a little inspiration, show a little spark
Show the world a little light when you show it your heart
We’ve got two lives, one we’re given and the other one we make
And the world won’t stop, and actions speak louder
Listen to your heart, and your heart might say

That’s some good stuff, and especially good for a husband of almost 22 years to hear.

“We got this far…not by luck, but by never turnin’ back.”

“We’ve got two lives, one we’re given and the other one we make.”

I’m going to think on this song for a while and see what I can do better.

Enjoy your Saturday.


“Saturday Music” is a weekly blog series about the music of our lives.  Click here to read all of the posts in this series.

Leave a Reply

