Saturday Music: A Pirate Looks at 40

I am not a big Jimmy Buffett fan.  For the most part, I just don’t like the musical genre of “hey, let’s go the beach and get drunk.”  At this point in my life, that’s not a worldview that I embrace.

But there was a point in my life when I suppose it was.  During the college years, when lots of beer was being consumed, I suppose I thought Buffett was some sort of seer or prophet (yeah, I was a pagan).  After all, when you hear lyrics like these as a beer-swilling 20 year old, you sort of see what’s ahead for yourself:

Yes, I am a pirate two hundred years too late.
The cannons don’t thunder there’s nothin’ to plunder
I’m an over forty victim of fate
Arriving too late, arriving too late.

I don’t think like that anymore.  I don’t see myself as “an over 40 victim of fate.”  I see myself as a child of the King, as someone who is under His Sovereignty.  I see myself as someone who is blessed by this King, but also as someone who lives under the promise of sowing and reaping.

I do still like this song.  Nowadays, though, I listen to it differently.  I don’t listen through the foggy haze of too many beers and lament what’s ahead.  Now, I just listen to it occasionally because I like how it sounds and I do like the artistry of the lyrics (even if I don’t see things the same way).


“Saturday Music” is a weekly blog series about the music of our lives.  Click here to read all of the posts in this series.

Leave a Reply

