Country Music Marathon: Power Songs

Gonna Fly Now (Bill Conti)
You can’t leave the all-time best power song off the list.

Feelin’ Stronger Everyday (Chicago)
A somewhat controversial power song as my buddies have laughed at me for the choice. But, the horns and drums take off around the two minute mark and remind me of a band at a high school football game.

Eye of the Tiger (Survivor)
Most folks in Alabama would associate the song with the Auburn Tigers, but I’m old and to me it’s just a Rocky song. As the song says, don’t trade your passion for glory, bro.

Pompeii (Bastille)
A new song, but it’s got some nice drums. I like it, even if it’s about a bunch of people dying.

The Man (Aloe Blacc)
I’m not a big fan of the words to this song, but, hey, it’s catchy. What better pick me up than to remind yourself you’re the man?

My Home’s in Alabama (Alabama)
Hey, it’s an Alabama thing. The words to the song are powerful and the guys from Fort Payne let it rip as the song progresses. I’ll probably be crying by the time this one is over.

 

Leave a Reply

