Worship from Psalms 73:26

My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. – Psalm 73:26 (ESV)

This is Sunday and, hopefully, our day will include a formalized, corporate time of worship of our Heavenly Father.  No, no, no.  Don’t get me wrong when I say “formalized, corporate time of worship.”  By that I mean, our day will include worshiping with others a church.  There’s something special about setting aside a special time of worship and there’s something special about gathering with others to worship.  It’s easy to say my worship time is my time singing to God in my car or the time I commune with God out in the woods.  Sure, those things can be done, but there’s nothing like participating in the Biblical call to gather and worship.

That doesn’t really tie-in to Psalm 73:26, but I wanted to say it.

“My flesh and my heart may fail…” – In many periods of our lives, we think we’re invincible.  When we’re young, we survive rocks bouncing off of our heads.  When we’re older, we remark to our friends “no, I’ve never been in the hospital and no I’ve never been sick.”  But the reality is, we’re all frail and needy.  Maybe it’s a winter cold, maybe it’s recuperating from a car wreck or maybe it’s just getting older and finding new creaks and aches, but we do see (and feel) the reality that we are but weak flesh.  And this weak flesh, along with our hearts, is bound to fail.

“…but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” – Because our flesh and heart are weak and fail, we won’t live forever.  Our weak flesh and failing heart give us new perspective that we need help.  The Psalmist here reminds us of our help.  God is the strength of our hearts.  God is our portion forever.  That’s the Psalmists way of telling us God is enough for us.

So as we rise to worship this morning, let us remember our condition – weak and failing – and remember that it is God who is our strength and our portion.  Let us worship our strong God and our God who takes care of us and supplies our needs.

 

Leave a Reply

