Straining Forward Toward the Prize

Straining Forward

Our perspective on life usually guides our life.

If we can find things for which to be grateful, we become grateful people.  If we only focus on the problems in our lives, we just see problems.

In passage below, the Apostle Paul describes his perspective:

Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 3:13-14 (ESV)

* “…I do not consider that I have made it my own.” – Here Paul is talking about eternal life and he doesn’t believe he earned it himself.  That’s pretty clear.

* “But one thing I do…” – He didn’t earn his salvation, but he does have something he can do.

* “…forgetting what lies behind…” – Paul has left it all behind.  As mentioned previously, he had some very good thing going for him prior to following Christ.  He left all of that behind.

* “…and straining forward to what lies ahead…” – It’s a comfort to know that Paul’s straining wasn’t so that he could earn salvation.  No, here straining refers to persevering in our Christian walk.  It means the next step, the next moment or whatever comes next.  We take that step forward in Christ by faith.

* “…I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” – We are ultimately “straining forward” toward the “prize.”  What is this?  Well, here it’s described as the “upward call of God in Christ Jesus” which refers to eternal life with Jesus Christ.

Life isn’t always easy, but the perspective we have can guide us through good and bad.  Paul’s perspective was to focus on Jesus Christ.  Whatever the next step was, he wanted to take it by faith in Jesus.

To be honest, I generally don’t have the right perspective and it makes thing harder for me.  I pray that my focus will be clearly on Christ.

Leave a Reply

