I’d do Anything for That

As I wrote yesterday, the Apostle Paul was willing to count everything he had as a loss, as rubbish, for a relationship with Jesus Christ.

Paul drives this point home with the following words:

“that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.” – Philippians 3:11 (ESV)

In verses 11 and 12, makes clear what he isn’t talking about:

Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own.  Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own… – Philippians 3:12-13 (ESV)

He’s not perfect and he didn’t do it on his own.

So what does he mean?

I think Jesus helps explain with a parable:

“The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and covered up. Then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field. – Matthew 13:44 (ESV)

Can you imagine doing the same think?  That’s kind of cool to thing about…

Well, Paul was saying the same thing.  Eternal life with Christ is such a big deal that he would do anything to obtain it.  The value of knowing Jesus Christ far surpassed anything that Paul had or could ever hope to obtain.  So he counted everything as a loss.  Willingly.

That should be our perspective as well.  Let’s think about that today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

